Podcasts · Quilting · Sewing

Ghost Stories

I’m not exactly a happy person.  I try to do the right thing.  I try to be kind.  But I’m annoyed, or tired, or just sad more than I want to be.  And I don’t like to be scared.  Usually my job entails lots of standing and talking.  But I had a some down time at work.  And that is when I discovered the Black Tapes podcast.

I’m obsessed.  It is like all that raw emotion that sits there on your skin is getting poked and prodded.  But in a way that wants you to listen more, not less.  But it is also scary.  My husband went to bed early last night and my son fell asleep pretty quickly.  It was just me in this old house.  With a scary story.  And, I didn’t want to turn out the lights.  It was like I was a kid again after my dad tried to scare me.  And I knew I would have trouble sleeping.  So I wanted to get away from my ghost story and do something kind.  Something happy.  Something different then the messed up world around us.  And after another few days of any unhappy world, I think we need something kind and happy.

IMG_0537
#quiltsforpulse

I found the Orlando Modern Quilt Guild’s Quilts For Pulse through this post at Cluck Cluck Sew.  I thought it looked happy and I really love the idea of making a quilt for someone who needs it.  I had some leftovers from another project that I quickly cut out and put together for this one block.  It took me maybe 40 minutes to find, cut, press, and sew this one block (I’m slooow).

Sorry for the poor picture.  It was 10 o’clock and I just wanted a reminder.  I don’t know if I’m talented enough to get a full quilt done in time to send to the OMQG.  I’m still pretty new to this whole sewing thing.  Maybe I can send a few blocks?  I don’t know.  But I felt better and no demons woke me up last night.

I may have still left a light on downstairs when I went to bed though.

Leave a Reply

