kids · Sewing

NOT a zebra shirt

My son asked me to make him a shirt.  A zebra shirt.  He picked out the fabric himself on the Girl Charlee website.  I don’t know what is up with the animal prints in this family.

This is not that shirt.  I’m not too keen on the zebra fabric but, mostly, I didn’t want to goof it up when I’ve never done knit edging before.  I’m glad I waited on the special fabric because we had a few bumps on the way.  One arm hole is… not great.  I didn’t pull the arm binding nearly enough as I sewed.  It actually ended up being too short and I had to add some extra fabric.  As a result, one arm is a little wavy and wonky.

I do however prefer the blue to the zebra print.

IMG_0561I used this pattern from Brindille and Twig.  It could be worse, but boy oh, boy, do I have a lot to learn.

And I like the peacock-blue from Girl Charlee.

Leave a Reply

